Skip to content ↓
Callington Community College

Callington Community College

Callington Community College

Subject Information

Course Information - A Guide to Choosing Your Next Steps

At C6 we work with all of our applicants to ensure a structured and challenging learning programme that is tailored to individuals to support their development and progression to align with their goals and aspirations.

Students will typically follow a combination of each of the elements below:

  1. Qualifications, A Level or BTEC, that stretch students and prepare them for the next stage of their education or employment.
  2. English and Maths resits where students have not yet achieved a GCSE Grade 4.
  3. Work experience to give students the opportunity to develop their career choices and to apply their knowledge and skills in a real work environment.
  4. Other valuable experiences such as enrichment activities to develop students’ skills, character, attitudes and confidence.
  5. Supervised Study to support students in developing their self-motivation and independent study approach.

Course Information - Subject Information and Entry Requirements

Please click on each subject for further information.

Course Information - What is the difference between A Levels and BTECs?

The main difference between the two types of qualification is how they are assessed. A Levels are all assessed via terminal examinations taken at the end of the two years of study. Some A Levels include coursework components, for example in Art, Music and History. A Levels are graded on the following scale: A*,A,B,C,D,E,U. All grades above a U are considered a pass.

BTEC and Cambridge National courses consist of a greater proportion of coursework. All of these courses will have at least one exam, but this does not need to be taken at the end of the two years. The exams usually examine one unit in contrast to the A Level exams which cover a greater proportion of the subject. There is also the possibility to retake these unit exams if needed. These courses are graded on the following scale: Distinction*, Distinction, Merit, Pass, Fail. Some of our courses at C6 are larger in size, and equivalent to two A Levels. These take twice the time and students can achieve double grades following the same grading system.

For most university courses, all of our level 3 courses are seen as equivalent to each other.