Skip to content ↓
Callington Community College

Callington Community College

Callington Community College


Welcome to the Local Governing Board of Callington Community College.

Within this part of the website, you can learn more about our governors and the range of skills and experiences they bring with them to their roles and the board as a whole.

I know I can speak for the whole board when I say how incredibly proud we are to be Governors here at Callington Community College. It is vital that Callington Community College continues to benefit from a vibrant Local Governing Board that has oversight of student life at the College and seeks to ensure the very best outcomes for our young people.

We are delighted that Callington Community College is a member of the Westcountry Schools Trust ( This places us within a ‘family’ of schools including Coombe Dean School, Dunstone Primary School, Hele's School, Holbeton Primary School, Oreston Community Academy, Woodlands Park Primary School, Stowford School, Plymstock School, Wembury Primary School, Yealmpton Primary School, Ivybridge Community College, and the recently opened Sherford Vale School.

We are always keen to hear from anyone interested in becoming a Governor. It is a hugely rewarding experience and we are always delighted to have informal conversations to explore whether this is something that could be of mutual benefit.

You are welcome to contact us via this form and selecting Chair of Governors from the drop down list. 

Callington Community College – Local Governing Board

Governor Category Term Ends WeST Links Responsibilities Reg'd Interests
Mrs Wendy Ainsworth


   01.09.19 ongoing    


Mr Tom Godwin



23.03.18 - 22.03.22



Careers Link

Plymouth CAB

Marjon University

Govs for Schools

Dr Jon Tilbury

Vice Chair


07.01.21 - 06.01.25 Safeguarding



Retired GP

Mr Christiaan Stirling


07.01.21 - 06.01.25

  Parent & Community 


Emotional Logic employee

Plymouth Foster Panel

Wife -  Social Worker

Mr Charles Pitman Parent

07.01.21 - 06.01.25

Educational Standards Deputy Safeguarding, PP, SEND, CIC


Ms Esther Gerlach Parent 24.01.22 - 24.01.26


Mr Dan McCaffrey Parent 24.01.22 - 24.01.26


Dr Stephen Squires Co-opted 23.03.18 - 14.12.22 Finance & Audit Finance, Health and Safety None
Mrs Emma Cox-Symonds Co-opted 06.12.18 - 05.12.22   Attendance Plymouth CAB

Mrs Avril Walker

Staff  15.12.16 - 14.12.22   Staff Wellbeing Staff
Mrs Bernie Guthrie Co-opted 05.11.20 - 04.11.24   Mental Health & Wellbeing